Skip to content

Hiatus

July 23, 2014
by

I’m sorry to do this but I’m announcing a one-month hiatus. Posts will resume August 18th.

There are several reasons for this.

1) I’m behind. I’m posting a notice about no Monday post on Wednesday evening.

2) Really, really behind. In theory this blog operates as follows: each week I write an article. Each week I also post an article I wrote several weeks before, then looked at and re-wrote several days after I wrote it. This draft-and-revise cycle is what makes this all work. My rough drafts are choppy and poorly-organized. But guess what? We haven’t had a decent article buffer in two years (oddly the same time as I started a job as a full-time biology professor). This summer I hoped to catch up and get an article buffer that wasn’t merely enough to give me space to breathe and write some good articles but enough to let me hit mid-terms this fall and not have to write any articles for a week or two without panicking. Instead we’ve been working on a -1 week buffer: instead of each article getting drafted, then revised, then posted I post articles the minute I write them, sometimes at midnight because I’ve stayed up late to write them. I’ve actually eaten through the tiny buffer I had as I’ve taken weekends away or entertained summer visitors.

3) Given #2 most of this summer’s articles have been rough drafts. They’ve been terrible. They’ve been rushed, they’ve been improperly written, and I haven’t had time to think through the sort of ideas I like to write about. Instead I’ve rushed off articles on something and I haven’t liked them.

I would like to write good articles. I’d like to write articles that don’t feel like chores. So I need a month to write some buffer. I may even need to change the update schedule permanently but I don’t want to do anything too drastic yet. So I’ll see you in August, hopefully with articles that I feel are a much better quality.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Ronnie permalink
    July 28, 2014 6:46 pm

    We’ll miss the weekly posts, but enjoy some time off. You’ve earned it. :)

  2. Mom/Susan permalink
    July 28, 2014 7:47 pm

    Sounds like time for a sabbatical!

  3. August 7, 2014 11:23 pm

    I look forward to reading your posts when you return. And though I understand why you took a break, I think that your posts this summer have been great.

  4. August 14, 2014 7:35 pm

    I haven’t been around in a while, but looks like I picked a good time to accidentally not check the blog! (I’ll have to remember August 18.)

    Btw, whatever happened to the 12left group?

    • Eric permalink
      August 15, 2014 11:13 pm

      It dissolved. I think realistically it had always required new people to come by and say strange things and without that everyone pretty much knew everyone else’s positions and conversation died.

Leave a Reply

